Weather Forecast


Morris Area Tigers compete at State Track and Field Meet

The Morris Area Tigers were represented in five events at the 2008 Minnesota State Track and Field Championships Friday and Saturday at Hamline University.

The 4X200 relay team of Corey Nohl, Taylor Nohl, Matt Wulf and Lincoln Arnold qualified for the finals Friday with a time of 1:33.36.

In Saturday's finals the 4X200 relay team finished in ninth place with a time of 1:33.89.

The Glencoe-Silver Lake relay team won gold in the 4X200 with a time of 1:29.12. Second place went to Lanesboro/Fillmore Central with a time of 1:30.03. Third place went to Worthington with a time of 1:30.50.

The state record in Class A was set in 2004 by Hermantown with a time of 1:28.93.

Taylor Nohl, running in the 400-meter dash preliminaries on Friday, had a time of 52.74.

"Taylor ran a nice race, but didn't get into the finals," said coach Dale Henrich.

The winning time in the 400 was a 48.88 run by Chris Stoks of Virginia. Nicholas Pfeifle of Southwest Minnesota Christian took second place with a time of 49.28. In third place was Joey Blackmore of Albany with a time of 49.37.

The Class A record is a 47.66.

Jackson Henrich competed Saturday in the discus and threw a 139-8 for 13th place.

The first-place throw of 185-06 was made by Micah Hegerle of Kasson-Manto. Joe Plante of MACCRAY took second with a 173-01 and Wade Powers of New London-Spicer was third with a throw of 167-05.

The Class A record of 192-07 has held since 1987.

Rachel Moser qualified for the 100-meter dash finals by running a 12.83 in the preliminaries on Friday.

This was Moser's fastest time of the season.

In the finals she finished in ninth place with a time of 13.13.

The gold medal was won by Ashley Tingelstad of Lake Park-Audubon with a time of 12.28. Samantha Zopfi of Providence Academy took second with a 12.49 and Brianna Barret was third with a time of 12.58.

The state record in Class A is a 12.14.

Moser also competed in the pole vault and cleared eight feet, six inches.

Lyndie Bosshart of St. James won the pole vault with a 11-06, tying the state record. Shannon Stever of La Crescent took second with a 11-03 and Laura Shuneman of Sibley East was third with a 10-06.