Weather Forecast


MAHS drama students take one-act play

By Tom Larson

Sun Tribune

Morris Area High School one-act competitors will take their show on the road, so to speak.

The drama group honing the play "Snapshot" for their one-act play presentation this year will head to St. Cloud State University on Monday to perform the work before other high school groups.

The practice performance and other rehearsals are leading up to public performances of "Snapshot" at 7:30 p.m. on Jan. 24-25, and the one-act subsection competition Jan. 26 at the Morris Area High School Auditorium.

"They get the opportunity to see what it feels like to take the play to a different space," said director Dave Johnson.

He accepted the invitation of a friend and fellow high school director to join about 10 other schools at SCSU's theatre festival as a confidence builder and a way "to share a show with each other."

"Snapshot" was born when the Actors Theatre of Louisville commissioned 20 playwrights to interpret the photograph "Mount Rushmore, South Dakota, 1969," by Lee Friedlander.

Their task was to respond to what might lie outside the frame of the photo in 20 different stories.

The MAHS cast includes:

Laura Lou Delahanty in "A Brief Tour of the Monument"; Bess Boever and Johanna Luetmer in "Monument;" Thomas Roberts and Ray Finzel in "Scene at Mount Rushmore"; Jesse Bergerson and Eileen Franey in "Defacing Patriotic Property"; Stanton Pavlicek and Fiona O'Halloran-Johnson in "Thrift of the Magi"; Thore Dosdall and Amy Rudstrom in "Here and Now"; Kaley Taffe and Hannah McNally in "The Great Father"; Peary Webster in "Becoming American"; Tabitha Klages in "History Lesson"; Delehanty and Carter Smith in "Bomb Squad"; and Ashely Karst and Olivia Pilarski in "On Lincoln's Head."

The "Snapshot" crew is Skatje Myers and Zach Stahman.

The MAHS players will perform at SCSU at 12:30 p.m. Monday.

"They'll get to see other really solid programs," Johnson said.

Poetry Out Loud

As part of the Friday evening performance, MAHS students will read for the second year in the "Poetry Out Loud" competition.

The poetry competition will be at 8:15 p.m. Friday, Jan. 25, following the one-act performance.

Last year, Annika Kildegaard and Mary Hue placed in the top three in the regional competition, and Kildegaard placed second in the state competition.