Weather Forecast


Looking Back 040514

45 Years Ago

Items from the Tribune of March 27, 1969

Because of the comparatively small enrollment in the fifth and sixth grades and in the kindergarten in the Donnelly School, pupils in these grades next year will be brought to Morris. Parents in the Donnelly area were informed in a letter this week from Supt. Oscar Miller, explaining a recent decision reached by the board of education. In conjunction with this decision, the board also made plans for the different utilization of two rooms in the elementary buildings at Morris to provide for two more classrooms, thus eliminating possible need for renting outside rooms next year.  

The newly-organized Junior Units of the American Legion will hold their initial district conference in the Legion club rooms in Morris on March 29.  Ruthie Ettesvold, Cyrus, president of the Seventh District Junior Units, will preside.  Other district officers are Jane Pederson, Cyrus, secretary; Martha Proudfoot, Morris, executive board member, and Lois Folger, Morris, sergeant-at-arms.

Lively interest in a community action program pinpointed to the over-all development and welfare of this immediate area was evidenced at an open meeting at the First Lutheran Church Monday evening.  Attended by approximately 75 citizens from all communities and areas in Stevens County, the meeting was an outgrowth of several earlier meetings of smaller groups of persons concerned about the future well-being of this area and interested in possible positive action that might be taken for the betterment of the area.

The sixth annual search for the Minnesota Teacher of the Year has been narrowed to 31 “Teachers of Excellence.”  One of the 31 is Donald Chizek, mathematics instructor in Morris Senior High School, who was recently selected as Teacher of the Year in the Morris public schools. From the 31, an Honor Roll of Teachers will be picked, from which, in turn the TOY will be named.

A committee met March 20 in the Morris Public Library conference room for the purpose of discussing a proposed Day Activity Center (DAC) for Stevens County.  The purpose of the DAC is to provide vocational and social training for mentally retarded adults and/or children who are not eligible for the present trainable and educable special education classes in the public school system.  It is probable that a DAC could also include those physically handicapped who could not attend regular classes.  The DAC corporation members which were picked by a steering committee elected the following officers: Mrs. Dorothy Zinda, president; Daniel Schivone, vice president; Mrs. Judy Rude, secretary, and Jack Reilly, treasurer.  

    The official ground breaking for the new physical education building at the University of Minnesota, Morris will take place March 30 at the building's construction site south of Second Street. State Rep. Delbert L. Anderson, Provost Rodney A. Briggs and Dr. Bruce D. Rolloff, director of physical education and athletics, will speak.  

25 Years Ago

Items from the Sun of March 21, 1989

The big step into retirement is growing nearer for John Anderson, a fixture in junior high science education in Morris-Donnelly. Anderson is part of a wave of retirees, four in all, that spells transition once again for District 769.  He's joined by Andrew Papke, Donald Fellows and Ralph Krenz. For Anderson, a call was received from then Supt. Oscar Miller, who offered a junior high-level position. He accepted, though, again with the idea it'd likely be a temporary arrangement. Anderson liked the age group he taught and also liked Morris a lot, factors that kept him long term.

UMM Chancellor Jack Imholte has announced the resignation of Daniel Noble, chief business officer of the campus for the last 20 years, effective July 31. Noble's future plans are undetermined at this time.

Heidi Picht of the Hancock Owls, fresh from a second straight state tourney experience, is one of 26 outstanding high school athletes to be named to this year's WCCO Radio Prep parade All-State Girls Basketball Team of the Year.

Four more area high school and community college football players have signed letters of intent to join the roster of the 1989-90 University of Minnesota, Morris Cougar football team, according to head coach Stan Zweifel. The four new players are Nels Onstad, Morris; Shawn Kirkeide, Canby; Dennis Carlson, Pine River; and Russ Terwey, Avon.  Onstad, a 5-foot-11-inch, 160-pound wide receiver, was a two-time all-conference pick for the Cyrus-Hancock football team coached by UMM grad Dennis Courneya. Nels is the son of Charles and LaVonne Onstad of Morris.

   The county commissioners continued their discussion of options on the clinic buildings Thursday, and voiced their intention to sell the old portion of the clinic.  They voted to send a letter to the Morris Medical Center and Stevens Community Memorial Hospital asking them to deliniate their concerns and interests. The options they are considering are sale of the old part of the clinic by sealed bid, restructuring of the lease on the new portion to the physicians, and a condominium plan for joint control of both the old and new portions of the clinic.

Carrie Hadler received the royal token around her neck that designated her Snow Queen '89. The five who vied for the title were Christa Papesh, Ruth Kiser, Carrie Hadler, Julie Erickson and Stephanie Carr.

Matt Sibul received the royal token around his neck that designated him Snow King '89. The five who vied for the title were Brooks Hill, Todd Oland, Jerry Evenson, Matt Sibul and Todd Boettcher.