Weather Forecast


Two judgeships open in Eighth District

WILLMAR -- Judges Kathryn Smith and Jon Stafsholt are retiring, creating two judgeship vacancies in Minnesota's Eighth Judicial District, the Commission on Judicial Selection announced Monday in a news release.

Smith has been chambered at Willmar in Kandiyohi County. Stafsholt is chambered in Glenwood in Pope County.

The selection process for two new judges has started. Applications will be accepted through July 15. Interviews are scheduled for July 30 at the Meeker County Courthouse in Litchfield.

The Commission on Judicial Selection is seeking fair, experienced and civic-minded candidates. Criteria include integrity, maturity, judicial temperament, legal knowledge, ability, experience and community service.

Applications may be requested in writing from Lee E. Sheehy, chairman of the Commission on Judicial Selection, 130 State Capitol, 75 Rev. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 or by emailing Andrew Olson, appointments coordinator, at Applications should be accompanied by a cover letter and resume.

Forum News Service

The Forum Communications News Service is the premier news wire service covering the Upper Midwest, including the Dakotas, Minnesota and Wisconsin. In addition to breaking and enterprise news, we offer a wide variety of sports, features, business, agriculture, outdoors and opinion content. For more information about the services we offer or to discuss content subscriptions, please contact us.