Weather Forecast



Kristina Johnson of Morris has been accepted at The College of St. Scholastica in Duluth and awarded a $44,000 Benedictine Scholarship. Johnson, a senior at Morris Area High School, is the daughter of Richard and Karen Johnson of Morris. She is planning to major in nursing.

Thore Dosdall of Morris graduated Summa Cum Laude from St. Olaf College. He is a performance and Norwegian major. He also had a concentration in Nordic studies. Dosdall earned distinction in performance and Norwegian. In addition, he was awarded membership in Phi Beta Kappa and Pi Kappa Lambda. Dosdall is the son of Vicky Dosdall and Howard Dosdall.

Three students from Morris have been named to the Dean's Honor List at Concordia College in Moorhead: Jennifer Buchanan, Tallack Dosdall and Adrienne Gahm. To qualify for this designation, students must carry a minimum of 12 semester credits and have a grade point average of at least a 3.7 on a 4.0 scale.

Trista Stock of Morris has been named to the Central Lakes College spring 2012 dean's list. The dean's list includes students who earned a grade point average of 3.25 to 3.74.

Patrick Uphoff, son of Susan Uphoff, Herman and the late Jon Uphoff, received the North Dakota State University Presidential Honor Scholarship, which totals $10,000 over four years. The scholarship recognizes high academic achievement and requires the student to score a 29 or above on the ACT.

Uphoff will enter NDSU in the fall and plans to major in mechanical engineering.

The North Dakota State College of Science in Wahpeton, N.D. awarded degrees, diplomas and certificates to 465 Wahpeton, Fargo and online graduates this year from 19 states and three international countries. Local students include Brett Blackwelder of Chokio, A.S., Liberal Arts; Stefanie Strobel of Chokio, A.A.S., Dental Hygiene and A.S., Liberal Arts; and Randy Marquart of Morris, A.A.S., Agriculture.

Two Morris students were candidates for graduation at the University of Minnesota, Duluth spring commencement ceremony.

Kevin Moses received a bachelor of applied science degree in elementary and middle school education.

Nicole Sa received a bachelor of arts degree in interdisciplinary studies.

Jon Dittbenner and Philip Rudney of Morris were two of the approximately 1,690 students to participate in the spring 2012 commencement ceremonies at St. Cloud State University.

Dittbenner received a bachelor of science degree in land surveying/mapping science. Rudney received a master of science in sports management.

Four local students participated in the 49th annual commencement ceremonies at the University of Minnesota, Morris.

Marilyn Sperr of Morris earned a bachelor of arts degree in management. Melissa Romberger of Morris earned a bachelor of arts degree in liberal arts for the human services. Pat Lienemann of Morris earned a bachelor of arts degree in English. Casey Gramm of Hancock, earned a bachelor of arts degree in economics and management.

Alexander McIntosh, son of Alisande Allaben and Gordon McIntosh of Morris, has earned the distinction of being named to the dean's list for the 2012 spring semester at Saint John's University. McIntosh is a first-year mathematics and physics double major at SJU.

Anna Langerud of Appleton, a student at Morris Area High School, has been selected for membership in the National Society of High School Scholars.

Moriah Mueller of Morris has been named to the spring 2012 Winona State University dean's list. To be named to the dean's list, a student must be an undergraduate enrolled full-time and achieve a minimum grade point average of 3.5.

Alexandra Kopel of Morris has been named to the spring 2012 dean's list at the University of St. Thomas. Students must post grade point averages of at least 3.5 on a 4.0 scale to be named to the Dean's List.

Thore Dosdall, son of Howard Dosdall and Vicky Dosdall of Morris, and Stefan Lemke, son of Lory Lemke and Pieranna Garavaso, have been named to the St. Olaf College dean's list for the spring 2012 semester. The Dean's list recognizes students with a semester grade point average of 3.75 or higher on a 4-point scale.

Cody Cannon of Morris has been awarded the George Brazil Honorary Scholarship. The $5,000 merit-based award will help fund Cannon's education at Minnesota West Technical College where he is studying to become an electrician.

Otto Kildegaard of Morris has graduated from Perpich Arts High School, the two-year statewide program in Golden Valley. Kildegaard was in the music arts concentration. He will be attending The Evergreen State College in Olympia, Wash.