Weather Forecast


Area Student Accomplishments 070514

Scholarships, Dean’s List, Enrollment, Awards, Graduations

Evan Schultz of Morris received an Associate in Applied Science degree in business management at Alexandria Technical and Community College's graduation ceremony held on May 14, 2014 in Alexandria, Minn.

Elizabeth Holland and Rebekah Aanerud of Donnelly were both recipients of a $500 scholarship from Dacotah Bank. Holland is the daughter of Joe and Linda Holland and plans to attend North Dakota State University. Aanerud is the daughter of Andy and Heather Aanerud and also plans to attend North Dakota State University. This year Dacotah Bank awarded over 40 scholarships to graduating high school seniors.

Megan Fitzgerald of Hancock was a recipient of the Art History Book Award from the University of Minnesota, Morris. The Art History Book Award is given to a graduating art history major in recognition of academic excellence and potential for further achievement in the arts.

Brendon Foss of Hancock was a recipient of the Arnold Henjum Scholar-Athlete Award, Men's Honor Athlete Award, and UMAC Scholar-Athlete Leadership Award from Morris. The Arnold Henjum Scholar-Athlete Award is presented to a senior male athlete on the basis of academic and athletic excellence and integrity. The award honors Arnold Henjum, professor of education from September 1964 to June 1992, who made innumerable contributions to Minnesota public education. The Honor Athlete Awards are selected by a committee of coaches on the basis of academic and athletic achievement. Recipients of the Honor Athlete Award have a grade point average of 3.0 or higher. The Upper Midwest Athletic Conference (UMAC) Scholar-Athlete Leadership Award is given each year to the outstanding senior male and female athlete in the conference.