Weather Forecast


Area Student Accomplishments 051714

Scholarships, Dean’s List, Enrollment, Awards, Graduations

Area students were among the more than 930 students who received degrees from Minnesota State University, Moorhead at a commencement ceremony on Friday, May 16. Kelsey Amundson of Morris received a BS in elementary inclusive education; Courtney Grout of Morris graduated summa cum laude with a BS in elementary inclusive education and early childhood education; Joshua Love of Morris received a BS in social studies; and Shadow Olson of Morris graduated cum laude with a BS in exercise science. Molly Asfeld of Chokio earned a BS in early childhood education.

AgCountry Farm Credit Services has awarded twenty-four $1,000 scholarships to high school seniors from northwest and west central Minnesota and eastern North Dakota.  Criteria for selection included academic record, vocational promise, financial need, personal attributes and leadership/extra-curricular activities. Area recipients include: Rebekah Aanerud, daughter of Andy and Heather Aanerud of Donnelly; Chelsey Ehleringer, daughter of Dan and Laura Ehleringer of Morris; and Andrew Scheldorf, son of Jeff and Teresa Scheldorf of Chokio.

Katie Huot and Timm Uhlmann of Morris are among the 1,915 students graduating from the University of North Dakota this spring. Huot earned a bachelor of general studies from the College of Arts and Sciences. Uhlmann graduated magna cum laude with a bachelor of science in atmospheric science from the John D. Odegard School of Aerospace Sciences.

Carly Cullickson, daughter of Kim and Vance Gullickson of Morris, was named a recipient of a 2014 Road to Success Scholarship from Bremer Insurance of Morris and Grinnell Mutual Reinsurance Company of Grinnell, Iowa. Gullickson was selected from thousands of Grinnell Mutual policyholders based on excellence in the high school classroom and a safe driving record.