Weather Forecast


Area Student News 8-10-13

Christina Thooft, daughter of Tom and Susan Thooft of Cyrus, was named with honors to the spring semester dean's list at Northwestern College in St. Paul, Minn. The dean's list includes full-time students with a grade point average (GPA) during the semester of 3.65 (out of 4.0) or higher. Thooft is pursuing a degree in accounting.

Christopher Scott, son of Cheryl Brevig and Rickey Scott, graduated from the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities in May 2013 with bachelor's degrees in sociology and political science. Scott will be attending the Walter Mondale School of Law at the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities this fall. Scott has received the Dean of the Law School Scholarship and the "Extra Innings" Graduate Scholarship from the Jackie Robinson Foundation. Scott is one of eight recipients of this award, and the only student in the class of 2013 to be recognized. Scott is a 2009 graduate of Morris Area High School.

Kendra Schmidgall of Hancock has been named to the president’s list at Lake Area Technical Institute. The president’s list is a list of outstanding students who, through their initiative and ability, have indicated a seriousness of purpose in their educational program. The president’s list is limited to full-time students who have achieved a semester grade point average of 3.5 to 4.0.

Justin Moser of Morris received a Doctor of Medicine from the University of Iowa during the spring 2013 semester.