Weather Forecast


Area Student Accomplishments 6-22-13

Scholarships, Dean’s List, Enrollment, Awards, Graduations

Forrest Emo of Morris was among the 545 students to graduate with bachelor of arts degrees from Gustavus Adolphus College during the school's annual commencement exercises on Sunday, June 2.

Kammie Beyer of Chokio was named to the dean's list at Gustavus Adolphus College for the spring 2013 semester. Students on the dean's list have earned a 3.7 grade point average (based on a scale in which 4.0 = A) or higher for the semester ending in May 2013.

Kendra Schmidgall of Hancock has been named to the president's list at Lake Area Technical Institute. The president’s list is a list of outstanding students who, through their initiative and ability, have indicated a seriousness of purpose in their educational program. The president’s list is limited to full-time students who have achieved a semester grade point average of 3.5 to 4.0.

Three Morris students were among the 1,565 students to graduate from North Dakota State University in spring 2013. David Lemke graduated with an MA in English, Jenna Moser received a BS in agricultural economics, and Bryant Spaeth earned a BS in English.

Haley Rohloff of Morris was a recipient of the MAFMIC Educational Scholarship presented by the Minnesota Association of Farm Mutual Insurance Companies. Rohloff’s application was presented by Agassiz and Odessa Mutual Insurance Company of Odessa, Minn. Rohloff plans to attend Mankato State University while studying business.

Several area students graduated from University of Minnesota, Morris during the 50th annual commencement ceremony held on Saturday, May 11, 2013. Graduates include:

• Anika Kildegaard of Morris earned a bachelor of arts degree in music, Spanish, with distinction, with honors. Graduates with distinction have a University of Minnesota grade point average of 3.7 to 3.89. Graduates with honors successfully completed the Honors Program that includes honors courses, honors co- and extracurricular activities, and a senior honors project. Participants must earn As for half of their Morris credits.

• Hannah McNally of Donnelly earned a bachelor of arts degree in management: general management.

• Alissa Melberg of Morris earned a bachelor of arts degree in management: financial management.

• Nicole Tschetter of Morris earned a bachelor of arts degree in elementary education.

The following area students have been named to the University of Minnesota, Morris dean's list for the spring 2013 semester: Sally Cheeseman, Jiawen Feng, Maria Fleck, Brendon Foss, Derrick Foss, Chase Gerold, Timothy Ginader, Kristina Grundmanis, Anna Gusaas, Deon Haider, Whitney Haugen, Andrew Helmin, Hanna Hudson, Hong Liu, Braden Luthi, Elizabeth Pappenfus, Dylan Reese, Dan Seidenkranz, Emily Streich, Oray Tangen, April Taylor, and Dietrich Wilke. To be eligible for the Dean's List, students must achieve a grade point average of 3.66 or higher while taking 12 or more credits, two-thirds of these credits on the A-F grading system.