Weather Forecast


Filing period for FSA County elections opens June15

The election of agricultural producers to Farm Service Agency (FSA) county committees is important to all  farmers and ranchers.  It is crucial that every eligible producer participate in these elections because FSA county committees are a link between the agricultural community and the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA).

The COC nomination period runs from June 15, 2014 through Aug. 1, 2014.  This year, Stevens County  Local Administrative Area (LAA) 1, will be electing a representative.  Nominations for the position will be accepted by filing form FSA-669A.  Eligible candidates must actively participate in FSA programs, own or operate land, and be a resident of Eldorado, Everglade, Baker, Pepperton and Morris townships.  Nomination forms may be obtained from the county office or online at

Nomination forms for the 2014 election must be postmarked or received in the local USDA Service Center by close of business on Aug. 1, 2014. Elections will take place this fall.

While FSA county committees do not approve or deny farm ownership or operating loans, they make decisions on disaster and conservation programs, emergency programs, commodity price support loan programs and other agricultural issues. Members serve three-year terms. Nationwide, there are about 7,800 farmers and ranchers serving on FSA county committees. Committees consist of three to 11 members that are elected by eligible producers.

FSA will mail ballots to eligible voters beginning Nov. 3, 2014. Ballots are due back to the local county office either via mail or in person by Dec. 1, 2014. Newly elected committee members and alternates take office on Jan. 1, 2015.